HERSIN COMMUNAL CEMETERY EXTENSION

×Explore the underlying casualty data by date, cemetery and regiment. Additional options, for example by surname and rank, will be added in due course

Casualty Records

Loading casualty records
ImageNameRegimentDate of death
Private William Hawkins 18106Royal Welsh Fusiliers27/09/1918 (aged 29)
Sapper John Robert Brockley 2371Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 50)
Corporal Page PLY/793(S)Royal Marine Light Infantry22/06/1916
Private Cassie 201681Royal Scots27/08/1918
Private Arthur Briggs 21801Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment)19/07/1918 (aged 27)
Sapper Charles Henry Abbott 4261Australian Tunnelling Corps26/05/1917
Private Ainslie 43174Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 23)
Lance Corporal Albert James Algernon-Cox 201895Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 32)
Sergeant Joseph Allen 4224Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 44)
Gunner Ambridge 17217Royal Garrison Artillery13/09/1918
Private Angell 302344Royal Scots27/08/1918
Sapper Appleby 79831Royal Engineers09/07/1916
Private Arthur 15424Royal Scots27/08/1918
Second Lieutenant Francis Clifford (Frank) Aspinall Royal Field Artillery17/09/1918 (aged 22)
Private Albert Robert Walter Atkin 5019London Regiment04/06/1916 (aged 20)
Private Badgley 814277Canadian Infantry26/02/1917
Sapper Charles Victor Barker 5250Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 36)
2nd Corporal Albert Edward Bruce Barlow 938Australian Tunnelling Corps11/08/1918 (aged 26)
Sapper Thomas Barnes 4269Australian Tunnelling Corps31/07/1918
Private Percy Gladstone Barr 706462Canadian Infantry20/12/1916 (aged 18)
Sapper William Henry Batson 943Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 26)
Major Alexander Reginald Bawden Canadian Infantry15/08/1917 (aged 31)
Rifleman Beaton 1556London Regiment (First Surrey Rifles)22/05/1916
Private Behan S/27054Cameron Highlanders23/08/1918
Gunner William Francis Bellamy 810712Royal Field Artillery08/09/1917 (aged 21)
Private Bernard Harold Bennett 21720Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment)19/04/1916
Private Bennett 275662Royal Scots27/08/1918
Sergeant James Webster Berry 4207Australian Tunnelling Corps31/07/1917 (aged 46)
Private Louis Bissonnette 435450Canadian Infantry22/12/1916 (aged 28)
Private Blaikie 351229Royal Scots27/08/1918
Pioneer Walter Charles Lucas Blower 103159Canadian Pioneers31/03/1917 (aged 40)
Pioneer Bond WR/24005Royal Engineers28/03/1918
Private James Frances Bosley 33977Royal Berkshire Regiment09/06/1918 (aged 18)
Gunner Bourne 815097Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918 (aged 26)
Sapper James Brennan 5497Australian Tunnelling Corps25/05/1917
Private John Brown 21283King's Own Scottish Borderers19/09/1916 (aged 32)
Sapper Budd 102510Royal Engineers31/01/1917
Private Buncall 39556Leicestershire Regiment22/11/1917
Driver Burgin T3/027667Army Service Corps20/11/1917
Sapper Charles Ernest Burley 940Australian Tunnelling Corps29/11/1917 (aged 29)
Driver Burr 20155Royal Field Artillery28/03/1918
Private Butler 3197Leinster Regiment09/06/1918
Sapper Edward Button 5964Australian Tunnelling Corps06/05/1917 (aged 37)
Private John Byatt 773041Canadian Infantry06/02/1917 (aged 35)
Sapper Campbell 137510Royal Engineers21/06/1916
Driver Campbell 71085Royal Field Artillery29/03/1917 (aged 24)
Private Campbell 3735London Regiment28/04/1916
Sapper Joseph Carden 5001Australian Tunnelling Corps22/01/1918 (aged 35)
Private Carriere 410468Canadian Infantry03/03/1917
Private Carter 78179The King's (Liverpool Regiment)09/06/1918
Sapper Cassidy 193228Royal Engineers25/12/1916
Private Cawley 4176London Regiment07/05/1916
Lance Corporal George Miller Chamberlain 102633Royal Engineers08/01/1917 (aged 28)
Sapper George Granville Garfield Chapman 500375Canadian Engineers31/05/1917 (aged 32)
Sapper Peter Marinus Christiansen 1313Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 28)
Lance Corporal Clark 27042Royal Scots27/08/1918
Lance Corporal David Donovan Clark 75946Canadian Machine Gun Corps17/12/1916 (aged 32)
Private Andrew Cleland 26915Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 34)
Lance Corporal Alexander Cochrane 541529Canadian Corps18/08/1917 (aged 32)
Sapper Harold Cockton 970Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 30)
Sapper Coffey 161197Canadian Corps18/08/1917
Private Cooper 424703Canadian Infantry20/12/1916
Private Cordy 39557Leicestershire Regiment22/11/1917
Major Leslie Jack Coulter Australian Tunnelling Corps28/06/1917 (aged 26)
Sapper David Coulton 4304Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 28)
Lance Corporal Coventry 407068Canadian Infantry22/02/1917 (aged 21)
Rifleman Crawley 3396London Regiment (City of London Rifles)07/04/1916
Private Austin John Hammond Croal 160188Canadian Infantry11/01/1917 (aged 41)
Sapper Edward Joseph Crowley 7304Australian Tunnelling Corps04/10/1918
Private Cryer 14797Yorkshire Regiment31/01/1917
Private Cummings 13551Yorkshire Regiment31/01/1917
Sapper Bartholomew Joseph Curran 5003Australian Tunnelling Corps22/02/1917 (aged 38)
Private Cutts 5136Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment)14/04/1916
Sapper Richard Daniels 5253Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 21)
Private James Williamson Davidson 48397Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 19)
Rifleman George William Dickinson 4129London Regiment (Post Office Rifles)03/05/1916 (aged 37)
Driver Dobbins 835559Royal Field Artillery28/03/1918
Serjeant Dobby 20929Royal Field Artillery25/04/1918 (aged 27)
Private Doherty 4456Royal Fusiliers01/05/1916
Private Harold Leon Doige 624777Canadian Infantry15/08/1917 (aged 22)
Sapper John Donnelly 4313Australian Tunnelling Corps19/04/1917
Gunner Thomas Dowd 5831Royal Garrison Artillery25/10/1916 (aged 38)
Driver Duthoit 96491Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918
Sapper Lewis Brinley Edwards 1414Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 31)
Private Egan 19557The Loyal North Lancashire Regiment13/05/1916
Private Ellis 14509Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment)11/04/1916 (aged 23)
Private Erwin 441390Canadian Infantry25/12/1916
Private Arthur James Farmer 27805Leicestershire Regiment22/11/1917 (aged 25)
Driver Featherstone 81243Royal Field Artillery16/08/1918
Sapper Ferguson 86504Royal Engineers08/01/1917
Private William Ernest Fishenden 781585Canadian Infantry07/01/1917 (aged 31)
Private Fitzpatrick 34778Royal Scots27/08/1918
Private Fletcher 14310Yorkshire Regiment01/07/1916
Private Thomas Flood 26239Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 24)
Sapper Henry Frederick Francis 2893Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 29)
Sapper Frederick John Fulcher 3563AAustralian Tunnelling Corps25/02/1917
Private Ebenezer J. S. Gardiner 49227Royal Scots26/08/1918 (aged 19)
Driver Gardner 145391Royal Field Artillery08/09/1917
Driver Garvey 104728Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918 (aged 37)
Leading Seaman Gibson TynesideZ/705Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve25/06/1916
Private Duncan Gillespie 199169Canadian Infantry13/12/1916 (aged 20)
Private Tom Gilyeart 799436Canadian Infantry22/01/1917 (aged 26)
Private Harry Ashenden Gold 437159Canadian Infantry30/01/1917 (aged 19)
Gunner Goldie 142908Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918 (aged 22)
Driver Goldsworthy 86794Canadian Field Artillery08/12/1916
Lance Corporal Arthur Gosling 79834Royal Engineers08/05/1916 (aged 29)
Private Gray 3837London Regiment22/05/1916
Private Green 34215Northamptonshire Regiment21/08/1918
Sapper Edward Charles Green 1021Australian Tunnelling Corps05/06/1917 (aged 44)
Private Green 20084Northamptonshire Regiment17/05/1916
Sapper Greenhalgh 132659Royal Engineers29/03/1917
Private Grimley 35678Royal Scots27/08/1918
Private Thomas Gulliver 16055Northamptonshire Regiment16/05/1916 (aged 26)
Private Halcrow 441159Canadian Infantry25/12/1916
Lieutenant Hanley Canadian Infantry08/01/1917
Corporal Walter Lawry Chaplain Hardy WR/24066Royal Engineers28/03/1918 (aged 37)
Private Joseph Harrington 15993Durham Light Infantry09/06/1918 (aged 40)
Private Alfred Cecil Harris 59494Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 19)
Private Hartshorn 325677Royal Scots27/08/1918
Private Harwood 772216Canadian Infantry22/01/1917 (aged 23)
Serjeant Francis Albert Hawes 31613Royal Garrison Artillery11/07/1916 (aged 25)
Lance Corporal Hay 20371Machine Gun Corps (Infantry)06/04/1916
Driver Haynes 57063Royal Field Artillery01/03/1916
Private Hockley 4928London Regiment01/06/1916
Private James Hodges 39038Leicestershire Regiment22/11/1917 (aged 35)
Sapper Hodgson 79836Royal Engineers09/07/1916
Private John Hogland 351837Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 21)
Sapper James John Hood 4356Australian Mining and Boring Company21/08/1917 (aged 47)
Sapper Benjamin Horrocks 4358Australian Tunnelling Corps16/01/1917
Sapper William Francis Horton 1030Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 27)
Sapper David Humphreys 27Australian Tunnelling Corps16/04/1917
Private James Mclean Hunt 425714Canadian Infantry08/01/1917 (aged 23)
Sapper Patrick James Kelly 5254Australian Tunnelling Corps17/08/1917 (aged 30)
Sapper William Cowie Kemp 1059Australian Tunnelling Corps13/11/1917 (aged 34)
Sergeant Macklain James Martin Kerby 1364Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916
Private Kirkhope 53154Royal Scots27/08/1918
Sapper Albert Edward Ladd 1071Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916
Private Lewis 16530Welsh Regiment08/06/1916
Private Linney 10771South Staffordshire Regiment15/05/1916
Private Thomas John Lockie 350369Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 19)
Sapper Michael Lyons 1273Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916
Gunner Mccarthy 99287Royal Field Artillery25/04/1918
Private Mcclure 135930Canadian Infantry24/01/1917 (aged 30)
Private Alexander Mcdonald 463006Canadian Infantry20/12/1916 (aged 40)
Sergeant Mcelrea 500437Canadian Engineers31/05/1917
Sapper Mcglade 158197Royal Engineers27/01/1917
Private Mcguire 123756Canadian Infantry06/02/1917
Private Malcolm Donald Mcintosh 73936Canadian Infantry25/12/1916 (aged 23)
Second Lieutenant Frederic Malcolm Mcintyre Royal Engineers02/05/1916 (aged 26)
Private Mackie PLY/310(S)Royal Marine Light Infantry22/06/1916
Sapper Hector Mclean 4421Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916
Corporal Arthur Edward Maidment 36152Leicestershire Regiment22/11/1917 (aged 24)
Sapper Marsh 79617Royal Engineers24/04/1917
Company Serjeant Major Martin 6930Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry30/04/1916 (aged 28)
Corporal William Constantine Mayne 4213Australian Tunnelling Corps14/02/1917 (aged 46)
Second Lieutenant William Edward Miller London Regiment17/07/1916 (aged 23)
Sapper Mitchell 79602Royal Engineers05/04/1917
Sapper Isaac Moles 5142Australian Tunnelling Corps27/12/1916
Sapper William James Moore 4402Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 41)
Bombardier Percy Morehen 75346Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918 (aged 22)
Sapper Frederick Morley 79709Royal Engineers09/07/1916 (aged 22)
Sapper Albert Morris 4403Australian Tunnelling Corps11/08/1918 (aged 40)
Private Morris 46097Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 20)
Sapper William Nightingale 4431Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 38)
Private Robert Russell Nunn 210674Canadian Infantry12/11/1916 (aged 21)
Sapper Vincent O'sullivan 4438Australian Tunnelling Corps11/08/1918 (aged 40)
Private Parrish 1810London Regiment22/05/1916
Private Partridge 12239Suffolk Regiment11/01/1917
Private Paterson 53198Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 19)
Gunner Pearce 835153Royal Field Artillery28/03/1918
2nd Corporal James Pember 1122Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 25)
Lance Corporal Benjamin Phillips 2330Australian Tunnelling Corps26/02/1918 (aged 36)
Sapper Potts 102128Royal Engineers24/04/1917
Sapper William James Praed 4451Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916
Private Price 10010South Staffordshire Regiment06/04/1916
Sapper Richard James Price 6640Australian Tunnelling Corps22/07/1917 (aged 24)
Rifleman Price 3672London Regiment (London Irish Rifles)14/05/1916
Sapper Thomas Evan Prosser 5014Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 38)
Sapper John Reid 4456Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916 (aged 32)
Private Alfred Savoury Rix 799311Canadian Infantry23/01/1917 (aged 25)
Sapper Robertson 147857Royal Engineers08/06/1916 (aged 21)
Sapper Joseph Henry Roden 1142Australian Tunnelling Corps19/04/1917
Private William Ross 79668Canadian Infantry11/01/1917 (aged 34)
Lieutenant Hugh Russel Australian Tunnelling Corps23/01/1918 (aged 45)
Private Russell 16558Royal Berkshire Regiment23/04/1916
Sapper Oswald John Shaw Russell 4468Australian Tunnelling Corps27/11/1916
Private Rust 11204Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry13/09/1918
Lieutenant Evan Ryrie Canadian Infantry19/07/1917 (aged 23)
Sapper Herbert Walter Scholes 1171Australian Tunnelling Corps18/03/1918 (aged 40)
Private Ernest Alexander Scott 353553Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 20)
Private Shears 4897East Lancashire Regiment09/07/1916 (aged 29)
Private James Skone 36224Welsh Regiment10/05/1918 (aged 39)
Corporal Small 14045Royal Field Artillery16/08/1918 (aged 21)
Private Smith 187705Canadian Infantry23/03/1918
Private Smith 14613Worcestershire Regiment09/07/1916
Private Samuel Smith 53206Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 19)
Driver Samuel Appleton Smith 895924Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918 (aged 37)
Sapper Hubert Stamp 466682Canadian Corps18/08/1917 (aged 25)
Sapper John Thomas Stanley 147688Royal Engineers26/06/1916 (aged 24)
Gunner William Cyril Stokes 129963Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918 (aged 23)
Sapper Sydney John Sullivan 4790Australian Tunnelling Corps20/02/1917 (aged 33)
Second Lieutenant Charles Taylor Royal Field Artillery09/05/1918 (aged 24)
Sapper Leslie Thompson 4489Australian Tunnelling Corps03/02/1917
Rifleman Thornton R/12813King's Royal Rifle Corps29/04/1916
Sapper Tuck 79843Royal Engineers09/07/1916 (aged 32)
Private Tungatt 5063London Regiment04/06/1916
Lance Sergeant Edward Underwood 47969Canadian Infantry02/03/1917 (aged 21)
Private Edward Wadsworth 270647Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 26)
Lance Bombardier Walker 835720Royal Field Artillery28/03/1918
Sapper Weatherhead 136212Royal Engineers31/01/1917
Driver Webb T3/028078Army Service Corps20/11/1917 (aged 28)
Private Harry George Webster 41041Leicestershire Regiment22/11/1917
Private Wedlock 19434Essex Regiment13/09/1918 (aged 44)
Sapper John Thomas Wentworth 6072Australian Tunnelling Corps01/07/1917
Private Bernard Widdowson 1547Royal Fusiliers09/07/1916 (aged 21)
Private Widdrington 19839Yorkshire Regiment20/02/1917 (aged 40)
Sapper Harry Williams 4511Australian Tunnelling Corps01/07/1918 (aged 39)
Driver Willis 151453Royal Field Artillery23/08/1918
Private Edward Wisely 47609Royal Scots27/08/1918 (aged 20)
Corporal Albert Wolstenholme 31966Machine Gun Corps (Infantry)22/08/1918 (aged 21)
Private Woodcock 772357Canadian Infantry25/01/1917
Sapper John Arthur Ferguson Wotherspoon 1210Australian Tunnelling Corps07/01/1917
Private Frank Herbert Hunter 3181London Regiment (Prince of Wales' Own Civil Service Rifles)03/05/1916 (aged 20)
Loading list of dates
Date of deathCasualtiesWith Life Story linksWith images
Wednesday 1 March 1916110
Thursday 6 April 1916220
Friday 7 April 1916100
Tuesday 11 April 1916100
Friday 14 April 1916100
Wednesday 19 April 1916100
Sunday 23 April 1916110
Friday 28 April 1916110
Saturday 29 April 1916100
Sunday 30 April 1916110
Monday 1 May 1916100
Tuesday 2 May 1916110
Wednesday 3 May 1916210
Sunday 7 May 1916110
Monday 8 May 1916110
Saturday 13 May 1916100
Sunday 14 May 1916100
Monday 15 May 1916110
Tuesday 16 May 1916110
Wednesday 17 May 1916110
Monday 22 May 1916320
Thursday 1 June 1916110
Sunday 4 June 1916210
Thursday 8 June 1916210
Wednesday 21 June 1916100
Thursday 22 June 1916211
Sunday 25 June 1916100
Monday 26 June 1916100
Saturday 1 July 1916110
Sunday 9 July 1916730
Tuesday 11 July 1916110
Monday 17 July 1916110
Tuesday 19 September 1916110
Wednesday 25 October 1916110
Sunday 12 November 1916110
Monday 27 November 191622221
Friday 8 December 1916110
Wednesday 13 December 1916110
Sunday 17 December 1916110
Wednesday 20 December 1916320
Friday 22 December 1916110
Monday 25 December 1916430
Wednesday 27 December 1916110
Sunday 7 January 1917220
Monday 8 January 1917420
Thursday 11 January 1917330
Tuesday 16 January 1917110
Monday 22 January 1917220
Tuesday 23 January 1917110
Wednesday 24 January 1917100
Thursday 25 January 1917110
Saturday 27 January 1917110
Tuesday 30 January 1917110
Wednesday 31 January 1917430
Saturday 3 February 1917110
Tuesday 6 February 1917210
Wednesday 14 February 1917110
Tuesday 20 February 1917220
Thursday 22 February 1917220
Sunday 25 February 1917100
Monday 26 February 1917110
Friday 2 March 1917110
Saturday 3 March 1917110
Thursday 29 March 1917220
Saturday 31 March 1917110
Thursday 5 April 1917100
Monday 16 April 1917110
Thursday 19 April 1917220
Tuesday 24 April 1917210
Sunday 6 May 1917110
Friday 25 May 1917110
Saturday 26 May 1917110
Thursday 31 May 1917210
Tuesday 5 June 1917110
Thursday 28 June 1917100
Sunday 1 July 1917110
Thursday 19 July 1917100
Sunday 22 July 1917110
Tuesday 31 July 1917110
Wednesday 15 August 1917220
Friday 17 August 1917110
Saturday 18 August 1917330
Tuesday 21 August 1917110
Saturday 8 September 1917220
Tuesday 13 November 1917110
Tuesday 20 November 1917220
Thursday 22 November 1917640
Thursday 29 November 1917110
Tuesday 22 January 1918110
Wednesday 23 January 1918100
Tuesday 26 February 1918110
Monday 18 March 1918110
Saturday 23 March 1918110
Thursday 28 March 1918630
Thursday 25 April 1918210
Thursday 9 May 1918100
Friday 10 May 1918110
Sunday 9 June 1918420
Monday 1 July 1918100
Friday 19 July 1918111
Wednesday 31 July 1918110
Sunday 11 August 1918330
Friday 16 August 1918210
Wednesday 21 August 1918110
Thursday 22 August 1918110
Friday 23 August 1918960
Monday 26 August 1918110
Tuesday 27 August 191824201
Friday 13 September 1918310
Tuesday 17 September 1918110
Friday 27 September 1918111
Friday 4 October 1918110