BERLES NEW MILITARY CEMETERY

×Explore the underlying casualty data by date, cemetery and regiment. Additional options, for example by surname and rank, will be added in due course

Casualty Records

Loading casualty records
ImageNameRegimentDate of death
Brigadier General Frederick William Lumsden General Staff04/06/1918 (aged 45)
Private Lockyer 6120Dorsetshire Regiment15/05/1918 (aged 37)
Gunner William Heath Evans 206657Royal Field Artillery21/08/1918 (aged 20)
Private Jehu Baker 37608Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry09/05/1918 (aged 18)
Private Harold Ernest Aldred 352625London Regiment20/02/1917 (aged 20)
Private Allday 18186Coldstream Guards01/08/1918 (aged 22)
Private William Armstrong 26696Grenadier Guards24/08/1918 (aged 26)
Private Bailey 305878Tank Corps20/08/1918 (aged 24)
Private William Gordon Baird 34661Highland Light Infantry15/04/1918 (aged 21)
Second Lieutenant Evan Murray Macgregor Balfour Scots Guards24/08/1918 (aged 32)
Private Leonard Angus Barkaway 43127Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders17/05/1918 (aged 23)
Private Barlow 29101Manchester Regiment03/06/1918 (aged 21)
Air Mechanic 1st Class Albert Barnes 114766Royal Air Force16/07/1918
Company Quartermaster Serjeant Albert Gordon Barnes 229484London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers)31/05/1918 (aged 32)
Gunner Thomas Marshall Batty 382346Royal Garrison Artillery30/05/1918 (aged 21)
Private Bellwood 22547Coldstream Guards01/08/1918
Private Bowring 6549Border Regiment07/06/1918
Private Leonard George Briggs 63083Royal Fusiliers31/05/1918 (aged 25)
Lance Bombardier Alec Charles Brown 159031Royal Horse Artillery22/08/1918
Private Thomas Henry Catherall 110235Tank Corps23/08/1918 (aged 25)
Gunner Percy William Chalklen 640714Royal Field Artillery21/08/1918 (aged 25)
Lance Serjeant Ralph Cheetham 13174Scots Guards12/07/1918 (aged 24)
Private Harry Clark 8593Scots Guards21/08/1918 (aged 26)
Second Lieutenant Hamlet John Clarke Dorsetshire Regiment21/05/1918 (aged 27)
Corporal Clarke 15585Border Regiment26/06/1918
Lance Serjeant Robert George Closier 300423London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)12/03/1917 (aged 27)
Driver Andrew Stewart Cochrane 96539Royal Field Artillery21/08/1918
Private Collins 22967Border Regiment26/06/1918 (aged 30)
Private William Copestake 37140King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry02/06/1918 (aged 19)
Corporal William Henry Cornelius 7609Dorsetshire Regiment21/05/1918 (aged 33)
Private Laurence Corr 201237Highland Light Infantry26/05/1918 (aged 44)
Gunner James Reid Davidson 365091Royal Garrison Artillery06/03/1917 (aged 19)
Private John Davidson S/11899Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders21/06/1918 (aged 31)
Private Brinley Davies 15976Scots Guards24/07/1918 (aged 29)
Lance Corporal Denton 42361King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry21/05/1918
Private Dickson 30708Highland Light Infantry16/04/1918
Driver Wilfred Dickson 204725Royal Field Artillery06/08/1918 (aged 25)
Gunner Edward Dodd 247444Royal Field Artillery21/08/1918 (aged 24)
Private Dolan 17295King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry21/05/1918 (aged 26)
Corporal Edmondson 22952King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry28/05/1918
Private Willie Moon Edwards 24045Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry24/05/1918 (aged 20)
Serjeant Archibald William Elland L/29671Royal Field Artillery04/06/1918 (aged 26)
Private Gardner 43849Royal Berkshire Regiment06/05/1918
Private Tom Gardner 35576Border Regiment23/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private Norman Alexander Gibb 16947Scots Guards12/07/1918 (aged 23)
Corporal Gillingham 3/7334Dorsetshire Regiment20/06/1918
Private Gillingham 19785Dorsetshire Regiment21/05/1918
Private Lionel Oswald Gleave 62053King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry28/05/1918 (aged 18)
Private Goddin 28841Border Regiment26/06/1918 (aged 29)
Second Lieutenant Gordon South Staffordshire Regiment21/02/1917 (aged 20)
Gunner Stanley John Graham 925892Royal Field Artillery03/03/1917 (aged 19)
Serjeant John Nigel Greasley 14977Dorsetshire Regiment21/05/1918 (aged 20)
Private Green 43853Royal Berkshire Regiment05/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private Samuel Richard Gregory 23954Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry09/05/1918 (aged 30)
Private William Gromadzki 8428Royal Fusiliers31/05/1918 (aged 40)
Private Guyan 203166King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry28/05/1918
Private Haigh 3149Welsh Guards23/07/1918
Private Hamilton 47210Lancashire Fusiliers29/05/1918 (aged 32)
Second Lieutenant Harms Royal Flying Corps04/03/1917
Serjeant Henry Edward Hayes 87157Royal Garrison Artillery30/05/1918 (aged 37)
Sapper Henry Hazlewood 175602Royal Engineers24/08/1918 (aged 27)
Private William Heaher 121614Machine Gun Corps (Infantry)31/05/1918 (aged 23)
Second Lieutenant William Charles Heath Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry22/05/1918 (aged 21)
Private James Thomson Henderson 21373Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders03/07/1918 (aged 18)
Private Henson 4515South Staffordshire Regiment21/02/1917
Rifleman Maurice Stanley Hern 44959King's Royal Rifle Corps11/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private James Joseph Highley 6652Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment)19/01/1917 (aged 34)
Lieutenant Beresford Winnington Hill Royal Flying Corps04/03/1917 (aged 24)
Private Hill 22342Dorsetshire Regiment14/06/1918
Private Hirst 6655Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment)19/01/1917 (aged 23)
Private James William Hodgeon 33558Border Regiment27/05/1918 (aged 39)
Private Hollins 24505Grenadier Guards10/08/1918
Private Holmes 201962Tank Corps16/05/1918
Lieutenant Geoffrey Hughes Grenadier Guards05/08/1918 (aged 32)
Gunner Ivory 85446Royal Garrison Artillery07/03/1917
Private Jackson 19549Border Regiment23/05/1918 (aged 27)
Private David Jones 2820Welsh Guards20/07/1918 (aged 25)
Lance Corporal Edward Phillip Jones 33128Border Regiment24/05/1918 (aged 28)
Lance Corporal Jury 1923Welsh Guards20/07/1918 (aged 22)
Sapper Stanley Kerrison 147559Royal Engineers24/08/1918
Rifleman Harry James Kerswell 301102London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)26/02/1917 (aged 19)
Private James King 28947Border Regiment07/06/1918 (aged 24)
Corporal Samuel Kirk 7174West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own)29/01/1917
Private Percy Arnold Kite 27382Border Regiment04/06/1918 (aged 28)
Private Lavelle 552Highland Light Infantry26/05/1918
Private Herbert Alfred Lea 34267Dorsetshire Regiment14/06/1918
Private 1st Class Frederick Lees 113214Royal Air Force07/06/1918 (aged 21)
Private Leitch 42724Highland Light Infantry26/05/1918
Private Mclean 56261Machine Gun Corps (Infantry)25/08/1918
Lance Corporal Leo Philip Mcmanus 38728King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry17/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private Robert Matthews S/22962Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders21/06/1918 (aged 33)
Lance Corporal Leonard May 16411Coldstream Guards28/07/1918 (aged 23)
Private Frank Mercer 8116Machine Gun Corps (Infantry)16/05/1918 (aged 19)
Gunner David Mill 365579Royal Garrison Artillery06/03/1917 (aged 20)
Private Albert George Miller 37743Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry09/05/1918 (aged 23)
Private William Milne 11153Scots Guards29/07/1918 (aged 26)
Private Morgan 25396Dorsetshire Regiment30/06/1918 (aged 38)
Serjeant Morrall 8151South Staffordshire Regiment28/02/1917
Private Edward Mulrooney 10962Lancashire Fusiliers02/06/1918 (aged 35)
Lance Corporal Frank Murphy 304617Tank Corps23/08/1918
Private Charles Murray S/23276Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders09/06/1918
Lance Corporal Andrew Neil 13516Scots Guards16/07/1918 (aged 23)
Private Edwin Nichols 37220King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry21/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private John Thomas Nixon 30178West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own)02/06/1918
Private Michael James O'connor 1833Welsh Guards07/08/1918 (aged 38)
Private Thomas O'hare 33759Highland Light Infantry04/06/1918
Private John Owen 62397King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry16/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private Ernest George Packer 18517Coldstream Guards28/07/1918 (aged 20)
Serjeant John Park S/1484Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders28/05/1918
Private Payne 202220South Staffordshire Regiment03/03/1917
Private Pepper 24409King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry28/05/1918
Private Albert Perry 65878Royal Fusiliers25/04/1918 (aged 21)
Private Wilfred James Perry 260314Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry24/05/1918 (aged 25)
Private Pickles 35418Border Regiment24/05/1918
Second Lieutenant Thomas Williamson Porteous Tank Corps23/08/1918 (aged 28)
Lance Corporal Preen 1824Welsh Guards24/07/1918
Private Pretty 40359King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry19/05/1918
Lance Corporal Peter Quinn S/8180Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders06/06/1918
Captain Rathbone Dorsetshire Regiment04/06/1918 (aged 20)
Company Serjeant Major Read L/13438Royal Fusiliers16/04/1918
Lance Corporal Revell 19672Dorsetshire Regiment19/06/1918
Lance Serjeant Thomas William Victor Richards 18570Dorsetshire Regiment14/06/1918 (aged 20)
Second Lieutenant Nathaniel Edgar Riley King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry21/05/1918
Private Thomas Roberts 16403Scots Guards12/07/1918
Private Thomas Robertson 43070Highland Light Infantry09/06/1918 (aged 20)
Second Lieutenant Charles Owen Rocke Grenadier Guards23/08/1918 (aged 19)
Lance Corporal Medwell Rose 9009Scots Guards21/08/1918 (aged 23)
Private James Thomas Royle 35424Border Regiment24/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private William Henry Saint 26614Grenadier Guards01/08/1918 (aged 22)
Serjeant James Savage 2717King's Royal Rifle Corps08/05/1918 (aged 36)
Pioneer Stephen Scarratt 128773Royal Engineers02/02/1917 (aged 25)
Private Scrivens 28504Border Regiment24/06/1918 (aged 36)
Private William James Sidney 3648Welsh Guards07/08/1918 (aged 30)
Gunner Harold Simpkin 113629Royal Garrison Artillery30/05/1918 (aged 29)
Corporal Sizer 21029Border Regiment26/06/1918
Private Isaac Smallman 2391South Staffordshire Regiment03/03/1917 (aged 24)
Corporal Arnold Joseph Smith 229416Royal Fusiliers23/04/1918 (aged 22)
Private Harry Healey Smith 62419King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry21/05/1918 (aged 19)
Rifleman Philip Sydney Smith 301476London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)04/03/1917 (aged 28)
Captain Samuel Percy Smith South Staffordshire Regiment28/02/1917 (aged 28)
Lance Corporal Frederick Spence 50305Royal Fusiliers25/04/1918 (aged 29)
Lance Corporal Squibb 8357Durham Light Infantry15/01/1918
Gunner Robert Stark 181876Royal Garrison Artillery30/05/1918
Private Robert Stenhouse 17238Scots Guards03/08/1918 (aged 23)
Private Stephen 43774Royal Berkshire Regiment06/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private Charles Sullivan 75721Royal Fusiliers23/04/1918
Gunner Percy Taylor 169450Royal Garrison Artillery31/05/1918 (aged 39)
Private David Stanley Thompson 21298Coldstream Guards24/07/1918 (aged 20)
Private Ernest John Thompson 8322Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders09/06/1918 (aged 24)
Private Thompson 203684Border Regiment24/05/1918
Private Thompson 20809Northumberland Fusiliers07/04/1917
Corporal John Todd 26994Border Regiment23/05/1918 (aged 29)
Private Henry Tonks 3/8923Dorsetshire Regiment04/06/1918 (aged 22)
Private Tracey 6873Dorsetshire Regiment05/06/1918
Private Tudor 2514South Staffordshire Regiment15/02/1917
Private William Vass 21741Highland Light Infantry26/05/1918 (aged 40)
Lance Corporal Archibald George Warren 43869King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry28/05/1918 (aged 21)
Private Stephen John Watkins 30293Dorsetshire Regiment14/06/1918 (aged 30)
Rifleman Percy Watts 44519King's Royal Rifle Corps08/05/1918 (aged 19)
Serjeant William Thomas Webber 4598Royal Fusiliers19/04/1918 (aged 22)
Private Charles Wenmouth 240584Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry09/05/1918 (aged 27)
Rifleman Frederick Harry White 45057King's Royal Rifle Corps09/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private Edmund George Wilkins 305908Tank Corps23/08/1918 (aged 22)
Lance Corporal John Williamson 73172Royal Fusiliers31/05/1918 (aged 26)
Private John Maurice Wilmot 37270King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry28/05/1918 (aged 19)
Private Woodward 19396Border Regiment27/05/1918
Loading list of dates
Date of deathCasualtiesWith Life Story linksWith images
Friday 19 January 1917200
Monday 29 January 1917110
Friday 2 February 1917110
Thursday 15 February 1917110
Tuesday 20 February 1917111
Wednesday 21 February 1917200
Monday 26 February 1917100
Wednesday 28 February 1917210
Saturday 3 March 1917330
Sunday 4 March 1917300
Tuesday 6 March 1917220
Wednesday 7 March 1917110
Monday 12 March 1917100
Saturday 7 April 1917110
Tuesday 15 January 1918100
Monday 15 April 1918110
Tuesday 16 April 1918220
Friday 19 April 1918100
Tuesday 23 April 1918210
Thursday 25 April 1918200
Sunday 5 May 1918110
Monday 6 May 1918210
Wednesday 8 May 1918210
Thursday 9 May 1918531
Saturday 11 May 1918100
Wednesday 15 May 1918111
Thursday 16 May 1918320
Friday 17 May 1918200
Sunday 19 May 1918100
Tuesday 21 May 1918970
Wednesday 22 May 1918110
Thursday 23 May 1918330
Friday 24 May 1918640
Sunday 26 May 1918430
Monday 27 May 1918210
Tuesday 28 May 1918730
Wednesday 29 May 1918110
Thursday 30 May 1918430
Friday 31 May 1918620
Sunday 2 June 1918320
Monday 3 June 1918110
Tuesday 4 June 1918661
Wednesday 5 June 1918110
Thursday 6 June 1918110
Friday 7 June 1918330
Sunday 9 June 1918320
Friday 14 June 1918440
Wednesday 19 June 1918110
Thursday 20 June 1918110
Friday 21 June 1918220
Monday 24 June 1918110
Wednesday 26 June 1918430
Sunday 30 June 1918110
Wednesday 3 July 1918100
Friday 12 July 1918330
Tuesday 16 July 1918220
Saturday 20 July 1918210
Tuesday 23 July 1918110
Wednesday 24 July 1918320
Sunday 28 July 1918220
Monday 29 July 1918110
Thursday 1 August 1918320
Saturday 3 August 1918110
Monday 5 August 1918110
Tuesday 6 August 1918110
Wednesday 7 August 1918220
Saturday 10 August 1918110
Tuesday 20 August 1918100
Wednesday 21 August 1918661
Thursday 22 August 1918100
Friday 23 August 1918550
Saturday 24 August 1918440
Sunday 25 August 1918110