RIFLE HOUSE CEMETERY

×Explore the underlying casualty data by date, cemetery and regiment. Additional options, for example by surname and rank, will be added in due course

Casualty Records

Loading casualty records
ImageNameRegimentDate of death
Serjeant Ralph Seward R/15612King's Royal Rifle Corps01/06/1916 (aged 19)
Private Henry Edward Jenkins 405Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment)26/06/1915 (aged 22)
Serjeant Jasper Briggs 16720Royal Scots12/03/1916 (aged 29)
Rifleman Robert Barnett 5509Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 15)
Second Lieutenant Alan Hood Wilson Rifle Brigade17/03/1915 (aged 23)
Captain The Hon. Francis Reginald Dennis Prittie Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 34)
Second Lieutenant Geoffrey Mark Penn Rifle Brigade11/02/1915 (aged 28)
Captain Guy William Hopton Royal Berkshire Regiment27/07/1915 (aged 34)
Captain The Hon. Richard George Grenville Morgan-grenville Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 27)
Captain Ernest George Dashwood Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry12/05/1915 (aged 35)
Second Lieutenant Archibald Steuart Lindsey Daniell Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 19)
Lieutenant John Kenelm Digby Norfolk Regiment04/08/1915 (aged 24)
Lieutenant Procter Norfolk Regiment02/08/1915
Lance Corporal Goldberg C/12695King's Royal Rifle Corps09/06/1916
Private Charles Dean 14928Cheshire Regiment19/01/1916 (aged 37)
Rifleman Thomas Stapleton S/4959Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 45)
Private James Nuttall 13985South Lancashire Regiment26/11/1915 (aged 25)
Private Alexander Hunter 6Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)29/01/1916 (aged 27)
Private Joseph Phillip Dodd 2327Royal Warwickshire Regiment22/06/1915 (aged 26)
Private Adams S/1655Seaforth Highlanders31/03/1916
Rifleman Adams 5/9565Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Private Adshead 16988Cheshire Regiment18/10/1915
Private Allan S/8898Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)25/04/1916
Private Andrews 14161South Lancashire Regiment14/01/1916
Private Armour 11930Royal Scots13/05/1916 (aged 29)
Private Ashbridge 1669Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders29/04/1916 (aged 29)
Private Aspden 21641East Lancashire Regiment07/09/1916
Private Andrew Baillie 17367Hampshire Regiment01/06/1916 (aged 20)
Private Baird 8895Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders04/05/1916 (aged 27)
Rifleman Baker 6791Rifle Brigade19/03/1915
Private Frank Banner 10885Royal Berkshire Regiment10/08/1915 (aged 25)
Private James Kinnear Barclay S/11581Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)12/04/1916 (aged 27)
Lance Corporal Barton S/3077Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)17/05/1916
Private Beeley 16994Cheshire Regiment21/11/1915 (aged 23)
Private Bell 26715Royal Scots13/05/1916
Rifleman Bell C/12726King's Royal Rifle Corps05/06/1916
Rifleman Abraham Benjamin 5/9466Rifle Brigade06/12/1914 (aged 22)
Private Benns 16942Norfolk Regiment26/08/1915 (aged 27)
Private Daniel George Birnie 17358Machine Gun Corps (Infantry)13/05/1916 (aged 26)
Private Black 23102Royal Scots09/03/1916
Rifleman Boater 5/9937Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Serjeant Walter Boneham 273Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry08/05/1915 (aged 29)
Private Boot 729Worcestershire Regiment19/04/1915 (aged 24)
Private Borthwick S/8890Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)07/05/1916 (aged 19)
Private Samuel Brack 14779South Lancashire Regiment15/01/1916
Private Josiah Bradburn 16742Cheshire Regiment08/11/1915 (aged 25)
Sapper John Brown 112713Royal Engineers23/03/1916 (aged 39)
Private Brown S/3586Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)25/04/1916
Lance Corporal Robert Garbutt Brownhill 22857Royal Scots20/03/1916 (aged 21)
Private Buckland 5831st King Edward's Horse07/08/1915
Private Archie George Butler 1790Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry27/05/1915 (aged 22)
Private Cant S/8952Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)31/03/1916 (aged 19)
Private Cargill 16851Royal Scots13/05/1916
Private Thomas Cawley 17989Cheshire Regiment19/01/1916 (aged 39)
Rifleman Frank S. Chandler 3573Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 25)
Second Lieutenant Geoffrey Arthur Chapman Royal Scots28/03/1916 (aged 29)
Private William Joseph Clark 17275Norfolk Regiment19/07/1915 (aged 28)
Rifleman Ernest Herman Cohn 5/221Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 19)
Rifleman Collier C/12966King's Royal Rifle Corps01/06/1916
Corporal Cook 12980Royal Scots12/02/1916
Corporal Bernard James Cooper 40368Royal Engineers12/02/1916 (aged 25)
Private William Cornelius 11093Royal Berkshire Regiment13/07/1915 (aged 23)
Second Lieutenant George Herbert Cotter London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)12/04/1915 (aged 32)
Rifleman Cottier 5380Rifle Brigade03/12/1914
Rifleman Crooks R/3543King's Royal Rifle Corps18/08/1915
Private Edward Davies 24543Cheshire Regiment06/11/1915 (aged 23)
Private Davis 2810Royal Warwickshire Regiment23/06/1915
Private Dawson 12483Norfolk Regiment31/07/1915 (aged 20)
Private Dewar 10717Royal Scots13/05/1916
Sapper Henry Clarence Dexter 40256Royal Engineers15/05/1916 (aged 25)
Private Donnelly 22970Royal Scots09/02/1916
Rifleman Doyle 3113Rifle Brigade10/02/1915
Rifleman Ernest Drake 5/9119Rifle Brigade16/01/1915
Private Robert Duff 23144Royal Scots13/05/1916 (aged 25)
Private Thomas Duff 12983Royal Scots16/02/1916 (aged 36)
Private Duffy 26706Royal Scots27/04/1916
Private Samuel Earl 15414South Lancashire Regiment18/01/1916 (aged 26)
Private William Cornforth Easby 14124South Lancashire Regiment10/01/1916 (aged 19)
Private Easton 2157South Lancashire Regiment16/12/1915 (aged 33)
Private William John Elson 15191Cheshire Regiment19/01/1916 (aged 25)
Rifleman Emery Z/252Rifle Brigade06/12/1914
Second Lieutenant William Meek Falconer Royal Scots13/05/1916 (aged 19)
Private Farmer S/11606Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)19/03/1916 (aged 19)
Private Farquhar S/10215Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)12/02/1916
Private Ferguson 15268South Lancashire Regiment03/11/1915
Private Flannery 12781Royal Scots25/03/1916
Private Fraser 11935Royal Scots29/02/1916
Lance Corporal Fraser 17416Cameron Highlanders02/04/1916
Rifleman Samuel Robert Garner Z/1435Rifle Brigade19/03/1915 (aged 18)
Private Bertie Gaul 9280Norfolk Regiment26/08/1915 (aged 24)
Serjeant Gaul 15240Royal Scots04/02/1916
Rifleman Gibb 9672Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 29)
Rifleman Frederick Gilbert 710Rifle Brigade19/03/1915
Rifleman Golding 5136Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Lance Corporal Graham 10058Seaforth Highlanders02/04/1916
Rifleman Green Z/2067Rifle Brigade08/02/1915
Rifleman Joseph Grundy B/2550Rifle Brigade27/01/1915 (aged 28)
Private Hamlett 15523Cheshire Regiment31/10/1915 (aged 26)
Private Hankey 13645Cheshire Regiment17/01/1916
Private Thomas Hannah S/9941Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)08/05/1916 (aged 29)
Serjeant Alexander Hardie 9628Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders01/05/1916 (aged 33)
Rifleman Hardy 8840Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 32)
Rifleman Thomas James Harries 616London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)15/04/1915 (aged 20)
Private Percy Albert Harris 15864Norfolk Regiment24/08/1915 (aged 22)
Rifleman Frederick Samuel Hart 9074Rifle Brigade24/11/1914 (aged 29)
Second Lieutenant John Percival (Bay) Hermon-Hodge Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry28/05/1915 (aged 24)
Private Herriron S/1955Seaforth Highlanders26/04/1916 (aged 22)
Rifleman Victor Gordon Hickes C/12300King's Royal Rifle Corps01/06/1916 (aged 19)
Private Hill 2334Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry30/05/1915 (aged 25)
Gunner Albert Edward Hopgood 23753Royal Field Artillery29/10/1915 (aged 20)
Lance Corporal Horsfall 14744South Lancashire Regiment04/11/1915 (aged 37)
Private House 11063Royal Berkshire Regiment08/08/1915
Rifleman Howard 164Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Private Howard 14553South Lancashire Regiment12/10/1915 (aged 23)
Gunner Robert Paget Hubble 50232Royal Field Artillery14/12/1915 (aged 20)
Lance Corporal John William George Hughes 2006Royal Warwickshire Regiment18/06/1915 (aged 24)
Private Hughes 23104Royal Scots12/02/1916
Private Hulme 14565Cheshire Regiment30/12/1915
Private Hutchings 3175Royal Warwickshire Regiment25/06/1915
Private David Newlands Jamieson S/8939Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)17/04/1916 (aged 28)
Private William Dewar Jamieson S/8645Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)12/02/1916 (aged 27)
Lance Corporal Henry Jenkins 19387South Lancashire Regiment03/12/1915 (aged 28)
Rifleman Jenkins 251London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)08/04/1915 (aged 22)
Private Thomas Johnstone 10133Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders28/03/1916 (aged 29)
Second Lieutenant Johnstone Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)30/03/1916
Rifleman Jones 292Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 29)
Private Jones 11780South Lancashire Regiment14/12/1915
Private John Keenan 13230Royal Scots13/05/1916 (aged 31)
Private James Kenny 1778Royal Scots12/02/1916 (aged 25)
Private Kerr Wilson 29231Canadian Infantry05/04/1916 (aged 21)
Lieutenant King Royal Field Artillery10/05/1916
Private Kirkpatrick 15155Royal Scots12/03/1916 (aged 41)
Serjeant Richard Knowles 3191Rifle Brigade22/12/1914 (aged 25)
Lance Corporal Knox S/1799Seaforth Highlanders27/04/1916 (aged 27)
Private Joseph Lamb 1335Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders06/04/1916 (aged 21)
Lance Corporal Lamond 13237Royal Scots29/04/1916
Rifleman Layton 5/9478Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Rifleman Leavesley 9507Rifle Brigade27/11/1914
Rifleman Arthur Llewellyn Lewis S/4969Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 31)
Private Rothwell Lomax 8693The King's (Liverpool Regiment)19/12/1914 (aged 49)
Serjeant Mcdonald 3296Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Private Michael Mcelwee 18114Yorkshire Regiment02/09/1916 (aged 22)
Private Mcgowan 15165Royal Scots14/02/1916
Private John Mcguire S/4182Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)12/05/1916 (aged 28)
Private John (Jack) Machin 12637Norfolk Regiment19/09/1915 (aged 17)
Rifleman Richard Bloodworth Machin C/12701King's Royal Rifle Corps07/06/1916 (aged 18)
Private Mcintosh 15822Royal Scots25/04/1916
Serjeant Mclean 12011Royal Scots01/04/1916 (aged 29)
Corporal John Mcleod 22687Royal Scots28/01/1916 (aged 27)
Private Mctavish 12393Cameron Highlanders29/03/1916
Lance Corporal James Mcvey 13120Royal Scots05/04/1916 (aged 19)
Private Mahoney 26152Royal Scots13/05/1916
Private Michael Mannion 16830Royal Scots13/05/1916 (aged 19)
Private Henry John Marchant 3237Royal Warwickshire Regiment19/06/1915 (aged 29)
Private Massey 3464South Lancashire Regiment01/11/1915
Rifleman Maunders 1341Rifle Brigade13/03/1915
Private Mitchell 417Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment)26/06/1915 (aged 21)
Private Moore 2932Royal Scots04/04/1916
Corporal Morrison S/4972Rifle Brigade07/02/1915
Captain Gerard Humphrey Morrison London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)31/03/1915 (aged 26)
Private Michael Morrissey 14300South Lancashire Regiment19/11/1915 (aged 26)
Serjeant Douglas James Muddle 2961Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 24)
Private Myers 2467South Lancashire Regiment25/11/1915
Private Nesbitt 22802Royal Scots13/05/1916
Private Charles Thomas Newble 11318Royal Berkshire Regiment18/08/1915 (aged 29)
Private Niddrie 8468Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders26/03/1916 (aged 25)
Private Thomas Henry Palin 13832Cheshire Regiment19/01/1916 (aged 23)
Private Panton 26157Royal Scots24/04/1916 (aged 26)
Private Partridge 1811Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry09/05/1915 (aged 30)
Private Patterson 1883Royal Scots23/05/1916
Serjeant Walter William Payne 12050Royal Scots12/03/1916 (aged 22)
Private Pealing 17422Norfolk Regiment01/08/1915
Serjeant Sydney Edgar Peddel 8918London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)10/04/1915 (aged 26)
Corporal Penman 13141Royal Scots13/05/1916
Private Penton 15298South Lancashire Regiment14/01/1916
Gunner Moreton Joseph Perry 37136Royal Field Artillery21/05/1916 (aged 26)
Private Albert Piggott 3269Royal Warwickshire Regiment25/06/1915 (aged 24)
Lance Corporal Harry Porter 22301Royal Fusiliers02/06/1916 (aged 18)
Lance Corporal Gerard Postings 14629Cheshire Regiment15/10/1915 (aged 25)
Rifleman Wilfrid Theodore Powis 309London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)31/03/1915 (aged 22)
Private Pritchard 27458Royal Scots29/04/1916 (aged 23)
Rifleman Richard Arthur Rendell 4797Rifle Brigade04/12/1914 (aged 19)
Lance Corporal Roach 9209London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)19/12/1914
Private Griffith Roberts 16262South Lancashire Regiment01/11/1915 (aged 37)
Private James Robinson 15067Royal Scots13/05/1916 (aged 20)
Private Ross 1696ALIAS12/02/1916
Lance Corporal John George Rowell S/10457Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)01/04/1916 (aged 23)
Corporal Sales L/6109The Buffs (East Kent Regiment)27/06/1915
Rifleman Charles Shale 169Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 21)
Private Sharman 2604Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry23/05/1915
Private Harry William Laxen Sharpin 12826Norfolk Regiment09/07/1915 (aged 24)
Rifleman William Dean Shaw 191London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)31/03/1915 (aged 19)
Private William Simmons 2567Royal Warwickshire Regiment23/06/1915 (aged 26)
Rifleman Simons 5329Rifle Brigade31/12/1914 (aged 21)
Private Simpson S/4921Seaforth Highlanders31/03/1916
Private Charles Sims 14493Cheshire Regiment28/12/1915 (aged 34)
Sapper James Robert Sinclair 48128Royal Engineers01/04/1916 (aged 20)
Private John Booth Skae S/8671Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)19/05/1916 (aged 22)
Private Small 1979Royal Warwickshire Regiment22/06/1915
Private Thomas Smith 11882Royal Scots12/02/1916 (aged 22)
Corporal Frank Coram Spain 3410Rifle Brigade22/01/1915 (aged 24)
Corporal Squibb 1085Rifle Brigade07/03/1915
Lance Corporal Stevens 1393Royal Warwickshire Regiment24/06/1915
Private Nelson George Stevenson 16080Norfolk Regiment14/07/1915 (aged 21)
Gunner Stocker 36765Royal Field Artillery21/05/1916
Private Arthur Stokes 15201Cheshire Regiment21/11/1915 (aged 45)
Private Stringer 12165South Lancashire Regiment03/11/1915
Rifleman Sullivan 320Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Private Swann 11655Cheshire Regiment02/10/1915 (aged 39)
Private Albert John Taylor 11098Royal Berkshire Regiment06/08/1915
Private Wilfred Taylor 19210South Lancashire Regiment23/11/1915 (aged 19)
Rifleman Llewellyn Thomas 9570Rifle Brigade19/12/1914 (aged 27)
Private Thompson S/8934Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)28/03/1916
Rifleman Tilley 5224Rifle Brigade18/03/1915
Second Lieutenant Arthur Reginald Trehern Royal Berkshire Regiment27/07/1915 (aged 28)
Private Tubman 22991Royal Scots13/05/1916
Rifleman Frederick Tom Underhill 1109London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)29/03/1915 (aged 28)
Private Wallace 1696Royal Scots12/02/1916
Private Walsh 14386South Lancashire Regiment10/01/1916
Rifleman Edward John Ward 68London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade)08/12/1914 (aged 23)
Private Watt 22772Royal Scots21/03/1916
Private Watt S/3925Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)09/04/1916 (aged 38)
Rifleman Wells 5046Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Rifleman Witham Z/643Rifle Brigade18/03/1915 (aged 33)
Private Woodhead 8402Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders06/05/1916 (aged 29)
Private Woods 26488Royal Scots17/04/1916
Corporal John Yellowlees S/7677Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)16/03/1916 (aged 23)
Rifleman Cozens 9670Rifle Brigade19/12/1914
Private Dally 6252Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders17/04/1916
Loading list of dates
Date of deathCasualtiesWith Life Story linksWith images
Tuesday 24 November 1914100
Friday 27 November 1914100
Thursday 3 December 1914100
Friday 4 December 1914110
Sunday 6 December 1914210
Tuesday 8 December 1914110
Saturday 19 December 191425116
Tuesday 22 December 1914110
Thursday 31 December 1914100
Saturday 16 January 1915110
Friday 22 January 1915110
Wednesday 27 January 1915100
Sunday 7 February 1915100
Monday 8 February 1915100
Wednesday 10 February 1915110
Thursday 11 February 1915111
Sunday 7 March 1915110
Saturday 13 March 1915100
Wednesday 17 March 1915111
Thursday 18 March 1915200
Friday 19 March 1915310
Monday 29 March 1915100
Wednesday 31 March 1915330
Thursday 8 April 1915110
Saturday 10 April 1915110
Monday 12 April 1915110
Thursday 15 April 1915110
Monday 19 April 1915110
Saturday 8 May 1915110
Sunday 9 May 1915100
Wednesday 12 May 1915111
Sunday 23 May 1915100
Thursday 27 May 1915100
Friday 28 May 1915100
Sunday 30 May 1915100
Friday 18 June 1915110
Saturday 19 June 1915110
Tuesday 22 June 1915221
Wednesday 23 June 1915220
Thursday 24 June 1915100
Friday 25 June 1915220
Saturday 26 June 1915211
Sunday 27 June 1915110
Friday 9 July 1915110
Tuesday 13 July 1915110
Wednesday 14 July 1915110
Monday 19 July 1915110
Tuesday 27 July 1915221
Saturday 31 July 1915110
Sunday 1 August 1915110
Monday 2 August 1915111
Wednesday 4 August 1915111
Friday 6 August 1915110
Saturday 7 August 1915100
Sunday 8 August 1915110
Tuesday 10 August 1915110
Wednesday 18 August 1915210
Tuesday 24 August 1915110
Thursday 26 August 1915220
Sunday 19 September 1915110
Saturday 2 October 1915110
Tuesday 12 October 1915110
Friday 15 October 1915110
Monday 18 October 1915110
Friday 29 October 1915100
Sunday 31 October 1915110
Monday 1 November 1915220
Wednesday 3 November 1915220
Thursday 4 November 1915110
Saturday 6 November 1915110
Monday 8 November 1915110
Friday 19 November 1915110
Sunday 21 November 1915220
Tuesday 23 November 1915110
Thursday 25 November 1915110
Friday 26 November 1915111
Friday 3 December 1915110
Tuesday 14 December 1915220
Thursday 16 December 1915110
Tuesday 28 December 1915110
Thursday 30 December 1915100
Monday 10 January 1916220
Friday 14 January 1916220
Saturday 15 January 1916110
Monday 17 January 1916110
Tuesday 18 January 1916110
Wednesday 19 January 1916441
Friday 28 January 1916110
Saturday 29 January 1916111
Friday 4 February 1916100
Wednesday 9 February 1916110
Saturday 12 February 1916940
Monday 14 February 1916110
Wednesday 16 February 1916110
Tuesday 29 February 1916110
Thursday 9 March 1916100
Sunday 12 March 1916331
Thursday 16 March 1916110
Sunday 19 March 1916100
Monday 20 March 1916100
Tuesday 21 March 1916110
Thursday 23 March 1916110
Saturday 25 March 1916110
Sunday 26 March 1916100
Tuesday 28 March 1916320
Wednesday 29 March 1916100
Thursday 30 March 1916100
Friday 31 March 1916320
Saturday 1 April 1916320
Sunday 2 April 1916210
Tuesday 4 April 1916110
Wednesday 5 April 1916200
Thursday 6 April 1916110
Sunday 9 April 1916100
Wednesday 12 April 1916100
Monday 17 April 1916320
Monday 24 April 1916110
Tuesday 25 April 1916310
Wednesday 26 April 1916110
Thursday 27 April 1916210
Saturday 29 April 1916320
Monday 1 May 1916110
Thursday 4 May 1916100
Saturday 6 May 1916100
Sunday 7 May 1916100
Monday 8 May 1916110
Wednesday 10 May 1916100
Friday 12 May 1916110
Saturday 13 May 191614140
Monday 15 May 1916110
Wednesday 17 May 1916100
Friday 19 May 1916100
Sunday 21 May 1916200
Tuesday 23 May 1916110
Thursday 1 June 1916421
Friday 2 June 1916100
Monday 5 June 1916100
Wednesday 7 June 1916100
Friday 9 June 1916111
Saturday 2 September 1916110
Thursday 7 September 1916110